PDA

View Full Version : Savarez Strings!



iamdanielle
04-10-2009, 06:03 PM
Hey guys,

I was thinking about purchasing some Savarez Alliance strings for my ukuleles but I am clueless as to where I can find exactly what I'm looking for and what model numbers to choose. Any help would be much appreciated. I was hoping for a high G, if that information helps at all.

Thanks in advance.

JTY
04-10-2009, 06:12 PM
Hey guys,

I was thinking about purchasing some Savarez Alliance strings for my ukuleles but I am clueless as to where I can find exactly what I'm looking for and what model numbers to choose. Any help would be much appreciated. I was hoping for a high G, if that information helps at all.

Thanks in advance.
For a Tenor:

A string - 541R - std tension
E string - 542R - std tension
C string - 543R - std tension
G string - 541J - high tension - high G

got um from stringsbymail.com :shaka:

haole
04-10-2009, 06:16 PM
Check out this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzcyJmnetvg

And this thread: http://ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?p=97090

iamdanielle
04-10-2009, 06:18 PM
For a Tenor:

A string - 541R - std tension
E string - 542R - std tension
C string - 543R - std tension
G string - 541J - high tension - high G

got um from stringsbymail.com :shaka:


Is that for standard GCEA tuning?

haole
04-10-2009, 06:21 PM
Should be fine for GCEA; they're probably two high E's, a B, and a G from a guitar set but when they're on a smaller-scale instrument you can tune them higher.

iamdanielle
04-10-2009, 06:22 PM
Should be fine for GCEA; they're probably two high E's, a B, and a G from a guitar set but when they're on a smaller-scale instrument you can tune them higher.

thank you so much. good looking out.
:D

JTY
04-10-2009, 06:24 PM
Is that for standard GCEA tuning?
Yes,
I use them on my William King Tenor.

deach
04-11-2009, 01:34 AM
For a Tenor:

A string - 541R - std tension
E string - 542R - std tension
C string - 543R - std tension
G string - 541J - high tension - high G

got um from stringsbymail.com :shaka:

I also use this set up for high g.

iamdanielle
04-11-2009, 07:48 AM
thanks guys. my strings are officially ordered.

Kekani
04-11-2009, 07:50 AM
Of course, we are all assuming that you have a Tenor(s) that you're putting this on, correct?

Ahnko Honu
04-17-2009, 09:43 AM
How about for a soprano, what strings? Mahalo.

scooterguitar
04-17-2009, 10:04 AM
Got mine today from Just Strings, also a set of Daddario J71, gonna do some stringing this weekend, friend has nut file she's going to loan me as I sold all of good ones years ago<:)

scooterguitar
04-17-2009, 01:20 PM
Pulling them out of the package, they seem pretty flexible/loose just to the touch. ANyone reiterate on this?