Better strumming

samcupcake

Reaction score
Hello! :) I'm pretty new to the ukulele, I've been practising for a couple of months now and really enjoying it.

I upgraded last week from a no name ukulele, to a Kala KA-CG and I really love it, it's so much better then what I had.

I've now got an issue though, when I'm strumming down, I'm occasionally catching the fingerboard with my nail and making a noise. It's driving me crazy! Am I strumming too hard? If I try and strum lighter I end up not hitting all the strings sometimes. It seems like a hard balancing act.

Is there a secret to strumming well, or is it just a cause of practise practise practise? :eek: Sometimes I swear I'll pick up my ukulele for some practise in the evening and it'll sound like I just picked it up for the first time ever...

Perhaps there's an idiots guide to strumming well out there for me? :rolleyes:

Welcome samcupcake. Do you have a strap or other means (binder twine) to keep the ukulele under control and to have it secure so it does not wander over your body. I found and still do that I enjoy the time with the instrument more if I use a strap to help me keep it where I want it.

No I haven't, I have considered getting a strap put on though. I only ever play sitting down, will using a strap help me strum better even if I'm sat down? I've never played an instrument before so I'm quite new to anything to do with music let alone playing an instrument.

I do find my new concert sized ukulele much more comfortable to hold then my first one, as I don't need to support it so much with my strumming arm.

Thanks for your reply! :)

Hello! :) I'm pretty new to the ukulele, I've been practising for a couple of months now and really enjoying it.

I upgraded last week from a no name ukulele, to a Kala KA-CG and I really love it, it's so much better then what I had.