MY latest build is finished

Vespa Bob

Reaction score
My project, started in late January is, after many trials and tribulations, finally finished. This is my first attempt at a standard concert shape, my previous attempts being pineapple or teardrop shaped bodies. Also my first attempt at a bound fretboard, headstock inlay and sunburst finish. Since this uke was built as a request from my son, I wanted to put everything into it and this is the result:
Sitka spruce top
Peruvian walnut back and sides
Mahogany neck
Ebony headplate, fretboard and bridge
Gotah tuning machines
MOP and bloodwood inlay
Abalone and wood rosette
Worth clear strings
I was particularly pleased with the sunburst finish, thanks to the Colortone liquid stains, which produce a beautiful finish. They were added to a 50/50 mix of lacquer/ thinners and sprayed on in consecutive coats with an airbrush. Even the darker shades did not hide the grain of the wood, which I found pleasing.
The inlay, representing the lone star of Texas, where my son resides, and the motorcyclist silhouette (my son is an observed trials competitor) turned out better than expected, considering this was my first attempt at something so complex, for me, anyway.
Of course, there were many, many mistakes made along the way, but not serious enough for me to quit and start again! The icing on the cake is that it sounds pretty good, better than the Ohana upon which it was based.
I'll be leaving for Texas next week and can't wait to see his face when he sees his his birthday present!

Bob

Attachments

• Colin's uke done 7.jpg
    Colin's uke done 7.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 169
  • Colin's uke done 3.jpg
    Colin's uke done 3.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 128
  • Colin's uke done12.jpg
    Colin's uke done12.jpg
    79.8 KB · Views: 124
  • Colin's uke done10.jpg
    Colin's uke done10.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 118
  • Colin's uke done 16.jpg
    Colin's uke done 16.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 109
A few more pics:

Attachments