Low G string out of tune

jlfinkels

Reaction score
Complete newbie to uke, pretty good fiddle player so not new to music.

For grins I bought a wound low G for my tenor and found out when I put it on that if I tune the open string to the G dead on, the rest of the notes on that string are way sharp. Not just a bit, but very noticeably out of tune. I put the original high G back on and the notes are dead on all the way up the fret board.

I found if I tune the low G very flat I can pull the rest of the notes in tune, but then the G sounds out of tune, though not nearly as noticeable as when the open string was in tune and the rest of the notes on that string were way sharp.

What am I doing wrong? Maybe try a different string brand? Live with it?

How's the string fitting in the nut slot? Sometimes going from high to low G needs a minor adjustment to the nut IME.

How's the string fitting in the nut slot? Sometimes going from high to low G needs a minor adjustment to the nut IME.

It appears to sit a bit high, not laying completely into the slot like the high G string does.

And the fix is...

Have the nut slot filed?
Get a different string?

If a wound low G won't sit in the slot properly, the slot will need to be widened a bit. An unwound low G is even thicker.

Try opening the slot a tiny bit, i really mean a tiny amount, it's easy to open it a little wider but not so much if it gets too wide and starts to rattle.

It appears to sit a bit high, not laying completely into the slot like the high G string does.

On a chromatic tuner the Low G is G3 the others are C4, E4, A4. The low G is one octave down from the rest. Sounds like you might have tuned the low G to G4 and that is why the others are all sharp. Then you said if the C, E & A strings are in tune the low G sounds flat.