NUD Kamaka 100th anniversary baritone

DownUpDave

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I received this Kamaka baritone Wednesday of this week. I had posted about getting it in the thread " Did you get your Kamaka...." but wanted to include some pictures, thoughts and a sound sample. I got this from HMS and they are the greatest

This is my first Kamaka and I am impressed, it is a very light build which is good. As should be expected the workmanship is all top quality and it feels great to hold and play. The balance is so good you don't notice holding it whether standing or sitting, it's effortless. The nut width is 1-1/2", I didn't know that until I started playing it.

I really like the sound........once I changed the strings. I do not like nylon strings at all so the black ones had to go. Here is a quick sound sample recorded straight from my phone.....raw and unedited

https://app.box.com/s/f6rpkjppy274ktmjwxxbk2m2qgmxzlzd

outside front.jpgheadstock right.jpgheadstock left.jpg

Last edited:
Congrats on an awesome uke! Love that Baritone headstock with the 100-year scroll. Nice photos too! :cool:

Hey Steedy.........you didn't have to flip these pictures around for me:shaka: Thanks bra

Here is a comparison photo of my Pono baritone and the new Kamaka. Kamaka does have a bigger body, both wider, longer and deeper

Pono vs Kamaka.jpgindoor front.jpgFront left.jpg20160505_070248.jpg

Last edited:
Niiiiiiiice

Sounds, and looks, wonderful!

Congrats. I just recently had my first experience with a 1.5 nut. What is your impression of the larger nut size?

Hey Buddy,

So glad you purchased this ... I know you won't mind me telling everyone that I was hot to buy this even after my Kamaka purchase ... so its best it came to Canada, eh?!

The new strings sound really great.

If you don't have a Kamaka ... and perhaps a newer one ... the sound is so centred, rich and full ... the craftsmanship is excellent. And LOUD!

I think now I need one ... lol.