PDA

View Full Version : Shopping for concert...

Griffis
05-09-2016, 01:42 PM
I used to play mostly sopranos. Getting back into ukes recently a friend gave me a no-name baritone and I thought for a time the bari uke would be my main instrument. But I have been thinking on it and I believe I will probably go for a concert sized uke, and very likely string it for low G.

Briefly, I am not a beginner. I'm not a great player either, but I have played stringed instruments for almost 40 years.

There is a chance that whatever uke I buy will end up being exposed to significant and sudden changes in temp, humidity and altitude.

For that reason, I am specifically looking for something inexpensive and laminate. I realize I will sacrifice some tone, volume, sustain, etc., but I need something that can stand up to weather shifts and which isn't too precious or valuable.

I have even considered some of the plastic ukes on the market today (and I have some experience with Fleas and Flukes) but I know I wouldn't ultimately be happy with that.

Right now, these are the contenders and I'd love to hear any thoughts:

Cordoba 15CM
Kala KA-CG
Ohana CK-22
Oscar Schmidt OU2 or OU3

(I have owned the Oscar Schmidt OU2 and OU 3 before and liked them fine...lower in volume but sturdy as heck and intonated well...)

Thanks for any suggestions.

PS-- Need to keep it +/- $150 if possible...

Jim Hanks
05-09-2016, 02:31 PM
Hmm, the Ohana is solid top: http://cargo.ukerepublic.com/product/ohana-ck-22-solid-spruce-top-mhgy-b-s-concert-ukulele-player-pack

Maybe the 10s? http://www.ebay.com/itm/MIM-Ohana-Concert-CK-10S-Laminate-Mahogany-Setup-w-Aquilas-Ukulele-Uke-442/171889475144?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%2 6asc%3D36462%26meid%3D07ee8a7fe9964fc19e29bef166a8 38ee%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D1721 61196114

tkthompson
05-09-2016, 02:47 PM