best way to record an isolated uke in a crowded, noisy environment?

Recstar24

Reaction score
Hello,

As a music classroom teacher, I would like to find a better way of recording my kids on the ukulele in class for assessment purposes. Basically, I have a class full of kids, each kid is practicing independently on their uke, and I want to be able to record a playing example from each kid without necessarily making every kid stop playing. Essentially, I want to get as clean of a recording from a uke in a somewhat noisy environment. We use ipads and are a 1:1 ipad school which means every kid has an ipad. Thanks for any help!

Via a pickup (maybe a clip-on style mic) is the only thing that comes to mind. That's a lot of extra gear (pickups, interfaces), even with an iPad/student. I foresee lots of tripping and tangled iPads pull off of desks.

I'd lean towards plan B unless your class is relatively small.

Edit: The low-tech way to do this is get a handheld recorder and hold it close to each student as they play. It won't work if you were hoping to be discreet, but if you get close enough you'll be able to hear the "featured" player, no problem.

Edit 2: You could also get a personal mic for each student, but again: lots of gear, wires, headache.

Last edited:
Check out the iRig acoustic mic. It clips on to the sound hole and you plug it into a smart phone, tablet or iphone, ipad. Just requires downloading a free app called Amplitude. The cost of the iRig is about $50.00 and it is designed to go from one instrument to the next. I have one.

Can you have each student make a recording at home, and then email them in?

Doing so gives the isolated environment.

If you have a separate room off to the side, or a small closet, you can set up a few chairs and have each student come in and close the door and make the recording, which will isolate the one student from the rest.