Hard time hearing other voices

raduray

Reaction score
I can play the chords, and I can sing the song, but when I try to do both at the same time I get lost and can't put the two together. It's like I can't hear both voices at the same time and coordinate them.

It's frustrating, because when I listen to music I can hear and appreciate the various voices and their interactions. This could also be a problem if I ever get good enough to want to play with others.

I'm a newbie and this is the first time I've tried to do this. The song is Amazing Grace. Any advice? Are there some exercises or simpler songs I should attempt?

When I first started playing I found it impossible to sing and play at the same time - I kept trying but the minute I'd sing, my hands would get all clumsy and I'd lose my place. But after about a month of this it kicked right in and I didn't even realize it at first. So - my only advice is keep at it. And in case it helps - the first song I was able to sing while playing was "This Land is Your Land" which is a pretty simple three-chord song (not sure how that compares with "Amazing Grace" in terms of simplicity.)

When I first started playing I found it impossible to sing and play at the same time - I kept trying but the minute I'd sing, my hands would get all clumsy and I'd lose my place. But after about a month of this it kicked right in and I didn't even realize it at first. So - my only advice is keep at it. And in case it helps - the first song I was able to sing while playing was "This Land is Your Land" which is a pretty simple three-chord song (not sure how that compares with "Amazing Grace" in terms of simplicity.)
Hang in there raduray, it will all fall into place. It takes practice and then more practice. Both songs are good ones to practice. Enjoy

There are plenty of threads where people have expressed the same problem. Everyone has that problem to start out with.