Another " Which Uke for my first " question

MarkL

Reaction score
Hi Everyone, Mark LaHaie here from <near> Portland Oregon.
I'm a newbie .. I've gotten the Uke bug. so .. time to buy one and learn to play !

Sorry for the longish repetition of what you probably hear a million times .. but.. gotta get the thoughts out.. especially to a group that loves Ukes !

I found the "theukulelesite" and have played through their demos ( about a hundred times :cool: all the way from bottom of the line through the $2,500 customs

I play guitar .. and have some nice acoustics and electrics.

I understand the idea to: buy as nice an instrument as you can, as you'll just like it more, it sounds better - and you'll play more.

I keep vascillating from:
start with laminate.. from the demos .. I liked:
ie. a Kala -TG ($128) , the Gretsch 9120 ( $129 but not in stock right now ) .. and I liked the Islander MT-4 ( $138 - little wider nut - but again not in stock right now )

- or -
just starting off with a little better:
The Kala Solid Spruce top KA-STG ( $185 ) ( I really like this one )

- or -
or damn the torpedoes - get an even NICER one to start with - kind of like buying my " 2nd Uke " .. First.
Pono all solid wood ( AT, MT or MGT ) at $351

The Kala all solid wood:
KA-ASAC-T $380
KA-SRMT-TRI $400 ( wow. love this one.. tri wood back.. )

With the solid wood ones.. then I have to factor in: adding a case to keep it humidified..

so: do I WAIT ( save $ longer ) to get a Nicer/Nice one.. or just get things going with one of the laminates ..

- and then there's always: haunt the Classified ads here and maybe pick up a nicer uke - used.

I do value the complete check through and set up that HMS provides - but then I'm spending ie. $30 freight..

so: there's my ramblings .. any advice from you Uke veterans .. appreciated !

Thank You !

Mark