Productive Practice for Beginer..

slapbass

Reaction score
Hey all...Just curious how you all practice..I ususally try to practice chords off my chord chart...Then I get bored and try to learn songs from the Aldrine videos..
Do you guys use some sort of structure..
I find learning the songs on Aldrines video alot of fun but am afraid I not learning the chords by names..Im just learning the song..
Anyways ..Whats your practice like???

if i already know the song, i find a beat similar to the song on my keyboard and set the tempo to "close enough". then i play along.

if there are different parts, like rhythm and lead that i am practicing, i will use garage band on my macbook and record the chord progression while i play along.

i do the same thing with chords in different keys to practice my improvisation.

I'm brand spanking new to the Ukulele, so I'm not sure if my practice routine is as productive as it could be, but here is what I'm doing.

First things first, I'm of the opinion that 30 minutes of practice every day is better than 4 hours once a week. So I devote the first 30 minutes of my "workout" to things that aren't quite as much fun but build up to better things. So I usually start off doing all the major scales five times, and I try to do them without looking at my fingers if I can. So far, I'm improving but need to do more of this. Then I go through the major chords a few times. That's my warmup for now, but I'm going to start working the minor chords in next week. I'm trying to add new stuff slowly and focus on building flexibility and muscle memory.

I'm also trying to get better at reading music. I have a book with some really simple songs and I try to spend the rest of my 30 minutes playing along with the sheet music.