Keys of songs, chords and singing

cml

Reaction score
I dont really understand how this ties together, so would appreciate any and all input here :)...

If I am playing a song in the key of C, that's on a uke tuned to C right and no capo used... as far as I understand it that means I should be singing in C as well. That's troubling, because how the heck is one supposed to know in what key you are singing :p? Up until now I havnt worried and just sung as "sounded right". So how do I identify which key that I sing in, and is it only possible to sing in C? What happens if I sing in B or D? Can I lower the C to an octave lower?

Lots of questions here, but I have zero musical background and most videos and texts online seem to presume a certain level of knowledge and thus they fly right over my head.

Another question, related to the tunings of ukes, can one play a song in D with a ukulele tuned to C without the use of a capo?

Does this post make any sense? I am not sure, but then again I am confused over this matter :)...

Thanks!

Basically, the key of a song/tune tells you what notes/chords will be used in it.

I think your uke is a C6 chord with all open strings, but if you hold down the 3rd fret of the A string & strum, you will strum a C chord. Likewise, if you hold down the 1st fret of the E string together with the 2nd fret of the G string & strum you will be strumming an F chord.

If you check out keys of tunes/songs, the musical notation will often have a # (sharp) or a b (flat) next to the stave ( the funny looking thing at the start of the first line of notation).
http://musicmattersblog.com/wp-files/KeySignatureChart.pdf

Does that help at all? :)

Edit: This chart shows how they relate to each other. http://ezfolk.com/uke/Tutorials/1four5/music-theory/key-chord-chart/key-chord-chart.html

Last edited:
Thanks for your input Keith!