Why am I progressing faster on the uke than the guitar?

Ukettante

Reaction score
Can someone explain this to me?

I've been playing the guitar for about seven years. Mostly fingerpicking blues. Got into ukulele about nine months ago, and after getting a jump start from Uncle Rod's bootcamp and what feels like a turbo charge from Bob Brozman's Ukulele Toolbox, I feel as if I'm a better ukulele player than guitar player. I'm doing things I can't quite do on the guitar. For one thing, on the uke I am freely playing up and the down the neck, exploring and improvising melodies and rythmes, utilizing various chord shapes, etc., feeling musical in general. Lots of experimentation. But on the guitar, I'm still learning set arrangements by muscle memory--though I can improvise solos over a backing track, albeit poorly.

I can't verbalize why. Is it simply because the uke has two fewer strings?

What I'm striving for now is to bring this sense of exploration, experimentation, and improvisation to my guitar playing. Which is a wonderful, unexpected side effect of playing the ukulele.

Added later:
OK, let me try to answer my own question first:
1. Maybe yes, not having to worry about what to do with a fifth and sixth strings frees you up to do other things.
2. With the guitar, the blues, you have a repertoire you feel you have to internalize, techniques of the early masters you have to get under your fingers, Lightnin' Hopkins, John Hurt, Robert Johnson, etc. Perhaps before absorbing this repertoire, I don't feel free to express myself, although I understand improvisation is at the core of this type of music.

Alright, that's my attempt at answering my own question.

Last edited: