Are baritone skills transferrable to tenor without a lot of work?

Reaction score
I started on a baritone. Are baritone skills transferrable to tenor without a lot of work? Not that I am averse to work - rather I am just an amateur and I wonder if it would be a mistake to get a tenor - just because I would be overloading my brain. If I did get a tenor - and I strung it to low G, would that make learning to play it more difficult as online lessons are (I am guessing) aimed at standard tuning with high G.

In other words - which is the best tuning - in terms of learning to play?
Or is the challenge the same, no matter which tuning? I am 70 years old. I play with a local group at our public library. We play songs with only a few common chords - but we have a lot of fun doing it. Should I just stick with my baritone DGBE and forgot all the other choices?

I am kind of drawn to getting a tenor - simply because there seems to be more support for standard tuning.

The skills are very similar. I also play baritone almost exclusively and that is because I know the chords from my guitar days. I found it quite confusing to move back and forth because the same chords now have different names on a tenor. I settled on a re-entrant bari (high D) and just play regular uke music when I'm solo, and strum chords when I'm in a group.

So, I guess I'm saying that if you're just beginning and learning chords and such it would be much simpler to choose one or the other and stick with it initially.

YMMV

sopher

Like Sopher says, there are reentrant dGBE strings for tenor that would use the exact same chords you're used to on baritone. Low G on the tenor would give you the familiarity of linear tuning, just in a different key. The chord shapes are the same, just a different key.

There is no difference between low G or reentrant when it comes to "learning" to play a tenor..The chord formation and names are the same.