CONCERT ukes - What's good about them?

Pete F

Reaction score
Ok, well excuse the abrupt thread title. I'm intrigued by this size uke. I play soprano and tenor - the tonal difference is obvious. I did try a concert size when I first started playing and didn't get on with it, which was probably more the fact that I was a beginner more than anything constructive otherwise.
Anyway, I now have various soprano and tenor size ukes and find myself looking at concert ukes, more likely as a reason to get another instrument over any need or void. I appreciate some people prefer one size over another for personal reasons but: are there any areas the concert excels over the soprano and tenor; does anyone play tenor and concert and likes them equally?

Thanks, look forward to the replies

Pete

When I was in my "concert phase", for me the chief advantage was that the concert size combined different aspects of the smaller soprano (portability, ability to perform wide stretches, traditional sound) and bigger tenor/baritone (sustain, room on fretboard, higher volume, better suitability for the low notes, more "usable" frets) that I liked and wanted in just one instrument. I found a longneck pineapple-shaped soprano to be the best compromise, with a regular concert being a close second. I still believe this, too, though right now I'm a "baritone phase" where I get all giddy about the fullness of the sound.

The "a bit of everything" aspect of the concert size is both its strength and weakness. It checks a lot of boxes, but in a manner of speaking lacks its own identity. That sounds a bit strong, though, and isn't exactly what I mean to convey. It may well be the perfect size, or the least distinctive one. It all depends on what you want, and how many ukes you are comfortable owning. :)

Last edited:
I guess all ukukeles have different sound, and some prefer that of the concert size.