How does someone start making ukes?

greenie44

Big King Velour
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hi all -

Forgive me in advance for asking what is probably a pretty dumb question.

An old friend of mine, who has been a woodworker all his life, asked me the other day how to get started on making ukes. I am not at all experienced in this area, but what would you experts recommend as a starting point. He asked for plans, but I suspect there is more to it than that.

Thanks in advance.

There's plenty of stuff on Youtube. Watch and watch and watch again. Birth of a MyaMoe series of videos is a good place to start and then join this forum to ask advice from the helpful experts here.

Hello. My suggestion, as a total beginner myself, is to buy a uke kit from Stewart McDonald or Hana Lima' Ia. The Hana Lima requires a lot more tooling and skills but if he is an experienced woodworker it should be a snap. You get a detailed schematic plan sheet and a very well written handbook along with all of the necessary materials needed to build a uke. He can decide what special equipment he might need. Supplies and tools are available from several suppliers, Stewart-McDonald, LMI, Hana Lima, and several others. The kits get you started and let you discover what is involved just making a basic tenor ukulele. Then you have the option of going crazy building or buying the jigs and equipment necessary to really get into the process. Inlay work , bindings and purfling, various woods, there are all kinds of challenges and opportunities to enjoy after the first simple kit. It seems to be addictive. :D Hope this helps. I am sure many others will have additional suggestions.

I bought the Hana Lima manual, not the kit. If your friend is a woodworker, he might only need the manual. That was a good start for me. That and this forum got me going. Mya moe video series is very informative.

Nelson