Glen Rose ?

frigiliana

Reaction score
Hi i'm thinking of purchasing some Glen Rose Tutorials , can i ask any members what package they bought ? I can't work out which ones to buy i don't really want the playalong discs , i don't consider myself a complete beginner .
Regards Dave

I bought the Jazz books for both tenor and baritone. Glen is an upstanding guy and very willing to help with any questions.

Wonderful playing and singing Simon. Worth the price of Glens books for sure.

Last edited:
I recently bought the first one. I like his approach and ebook format.

I recently bought a couple of his books for baritone ukulele. I find the chord shapes approach he uses very helpful and suggestive. His song examples are very nice and include jazz standards.

Get workbooks one and two and later get the bossa nova book, if you are somewhat experienced. Less experienced players would do well with the videos. I got a lot out of the bossa nova videos in terms of combining melody with chords and also in terms of getting the rhythm right.

The Jazz blues book will show you some nice walk downs and slide ins. You'll get out of the basic twelve bar blues into a more sophisticated feel. You'll use minor sevenths and ninths instead of straight sevenths. You'll even substitute easily fingered 13ths for your sevenths or ninths.

More experienced players will really get a lot out of the Advanced chord video. It really expands your use of sophisticated jazz chords. You really learn how to use nice altered and extended substitutions.

I started writing songs with majors, minors, and sevenths, and the occasional minor seventh. My palette was limited. Now I have so many more colors at my disposal. It's nice to go from champagne ears and beer ability to champagne ears and the champagne ability.

Glen's instruction is wonderful. I now have a much better ability to work with good jazz fake books.

Last edited: