Indentation on finger tips not going away for a while

Reaction score
Every time I play I get indentations on my finger tips from the Ukulele strings. When I play an Em with the dents It's impossible to produce a clear sound I need to know what to do.

Jay, I think this is the fourth thread on this you've started - just sticking to the one thread will probably be better. When you start playing the uke you'll get grooves in your fingertips. As you practice your technique will improve and your fingertips will toughen up and this will happen less. I see other members have advised you that the grooves won't be what's effecting the sound - I agree with them. I have been playing stringed instruments for about 20 years now - guitar, mandolin, uke, banjo - in several bands along the way. Grooves in fingertips have never caused string buzzes etc. for me or anyone I've played with. The issue could be your uke or your technique. Perhaps a photo of the action of your uke could help us to see where the problem might be? If it's very high you'll have to apply a lot of pressure to fret the strings and this could be the source of your problem.