Kala electronics upgrade?

bacchettadavid

Reaction score
Fellow UUers:

I've begun learning to sing with the aid of a 30-watt acoustic amp, which really draws attention to my Kala's lackluster stock electronics. I tolerate the shortcomings in the pickup and preamp when I use a 5-watt modeling amp for home practice, but when issued forth from a 30-watt amp, the "Kala quack" is grating on my ears.

The ukulele already has an undersaddle pickup installed, so I would upgrade to a Mi-Si Trio pickup and have the nubone nut and saddle replaced with bone. An unsightly hole would remain in the side of the ukulele where the preamp is currently mounted, but I could call it a poor man's side sound port.

Would these upgrades be worthwhile in a sub-$400 uke? I'm uncertain that such changes would yield much improvement, so I thought I'd solicit you all for your more informed opinions first.

Disclaimer: I have no personal experience with this. Like Will Rogers, all I know is what I read.

I wonder whether the problem you are experiencing can be traced to the specific under saddle pickup your 'ukulele came with. Kissing highly recommends an Artec pickup. See this thread: http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?104467-DIY-First-Time-Undersaddle-pickup-project&highlight=artec+kissing

...and there are other threads, or you could write Kissing for his direct opinion.

For an experiment, swapping the Artec under saddle pickup for what's there would be a lot less expensive. If it doesn't help, you're only out about $10 and then can go for the Mi-Si.

I have a Kala with the same preamp and pickup and it sounds good to me on my Crate Limo TX50 50w battery amp. I am considering replacing the preamp with one I got from China that I've used on other ukes because I would rather have the tuner face me when I'm tuning, never could understand why they turn the preamps sideways like that.