2 ukuleles and one has to go

Steve Foster

Reaction score
Hi all. Long time lurker here.

I have a difficult choice to make and keep going in circles with it.

I wondered what you would do in this situation, but more importantly the reasons for your decision. Maybe your views might give me a nudge in the right direction for me. I'd be happy with either one which makes it even harder to decide lol.

I have two ukuleles both Ohanas; an sk-28 and an sk-38. I love them both, but one of them has to go for financial reasons. I'm really struggling trying to decide which one to keep.

I pick one up and play it and think yes this one I'll keep. Then I'll pick the other one up and...well you can guess :(:)

Sound wise I think the 38 has the edge, but it's close.

Playability wise I think the 28 has the edge. I do quite like the fretboard being level with the body.

Looks wise I like them both as much as each other although the 28 may just have the edge.

I am only learning (a few months) which I think makes the choice more difficult as I don't know yet how to get the best out of each instrument.

Anyone have any thoughts? Maybe reasons for keeping one over the other that I haven't thought of.

Thanks.
Steve.

Well if both are relatively even, I'd go with the one that has an edge in sound. If it becomes an only uke, the playability preference may very likely go away since they are both playable. Personally, I like the look of the 38 better. The 28 would be a bit too much for me with that prominent looking binding and I'm not a fan of it going up the center of the fretboard and headstock but that's me. Some would choose it over the other for that very reason.

Another approach would be to flip a coin. While the coin is still in the air, take note of which uke in your mind you hope it is or isn't. Good luck with your choice.

Last edited: