Which uku for tall skiny guy

Dreadxter

Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to this forum.
I got problem with choosing my first ukulele.
After lot of searching I found two which i really like.
1. Mahalo U320T (tenor size) with bag
2. Laka VUC30 concert size also with bag
Because i am total newbie to uke i want to know which would be better for me.

I think unless you have very thick fingers (and maybe even then), the size is really just a matter of preference. There are smaller people who prefer the larger sizes, and huge people with bear pranks who play like gods on the soprano size. No matter which size of ukulele you pick, it will at first be uncomfortable to play (also holding it). Once finger strength and dexterity improve, things will look very different. (Tiny Tim was a tall, skinny man with large hands, and he was a fantastic soprano player, even though everyone only remembers him for his nerve-grating comedy act.)

I'd make it dependent on the sound you're after, and which size appeals the most to you. What I do feel IS important, is to buy your first ukulele from a place that does so-called setup work. This is especially important with inexpensive instruments that often have issues with intonation and playability. In the US, good places are TheUkuleleSite.com (HMS), Uke Republic, and Mim's Ukes (ebay). In Europe, the Southern Ukulele Store also includes free setups.

I'm average size, height and hands, but I prefer a tenor uke because it is more comfortable to play.

My husband is on the tall side, 6'6" and plays both a tenor and baritone uke. The baritone is in standard tuning and he much prefers to use it although the tenor is high end and has a sweet sound, (my opinion). Both were well set up.

depends. you want to finger pick or sing and strum/pick patterns?

A tenor will work better for general finger picking, I think a soprano or concert would work for strumming/picking patterns.