What's your favorite wood for a uke?

teryg

Reaction score
Way back in my acoustic guitar playing days, I paid a lot of attention to the wood the instrument was made of. It seemed that Spruce had a bright tone, Mahogany projected well, Rosewood had a kind of sweet mellow sound, etc. There are a lot more woods out there now than there were then (or that I knew about, anyway).

The reason behind the question is that I'm happily playing my Cordoba baritone, which is mahogany. I was considering getting a Cordoba tenor but decided I would wait and search around more. I'm really new to the uke, so this could be me, but the Cordoba doesn't sound as balanced as I would like. The bottom and top seem strong, but something about the middle doesn't seem to sound as good (to me) as some other ukes.

I just listened to a couple of spalted maple tenors on youtube and they sounded beautifully balanced. I know it could be the players but I was also wondering if it was the wood.

Do you have a favorite wood for a uke? Would you share what it is and what you like about it?

:deadhorse:

I was looking for the popcorn emoticon but the dead horse one is just as relevant.

This one has been talked to death. The answer is,

Its all about the builder and how he builds the instrument. Not the wood used. The build is 90% and the wood is 10%.

Anthony

Sorry. I actually did do a search because I figured it must have been discussed, but the topic didn't come up. Maybe I didn't use good search terms.

Tery

Hello Tery and welcome to the forum.

Anthony's right in that this is a subject that's been discussed. Also you've discovered how bad the search engines are here (no way for a new member to anticipate that!).

But one thing that gets overlooked sometimes in these discussions is what wood for what size uke. My personal preferences are for softwood tops as the sizes get larger.