Pickup and Computers?

JackLuis

Reaction score
Most of my Ukes have builtin preamps and equalizers, but they won't drive my computers mic input. I have one of those clip on pickups that I bought to address the two ukes that don't have pickups and it does work with my computer mic input, not very loudly.

I tried to find out what the spec's were for the input and outputs but I guess no one seems to publish the specs? As an old electronics tech I'm used to dealing with specs and such. I don't know if the issue is impedance or levels or ??? What?

I want to play my ukes into my computer and record them and use the equalizer to 'shape' the sound. Can anyone tell me how to do this without buying a amplifier to do this? :confused:

As far as I know, you have to buy a device that is built for that. I have the iRigHD which works for my Mac, iPhone and iPad. I know there are other devices. I guess you could build one, if you had the specs for one of those devices.

Most of my Ukes have builtin preamps and equalizers, but they won't drive my computers mic input. I have one of those clip on pickups that I bought to address the two ukes that don't have pickups and it does work with my computer mic input, not very loudly.

I tried to find out what the spec's were for the input and outputs but I guess no one seems to publish the specs? As an old electronics tech I'm used to dealing with specs and such. I don't know if the issue is impedance or levels or ??? What?

I want to play my ukes into my computer and record them and use the equalizer to 'shape' the sound. Can anyone tell me how to do this without buying a amplifier to do this? :confused:

You possibly need to use your "Line Input" rather than the microphone input. If your machine only has a single input socket it may be configurable from within "Settings" to use it as one or the other. Other than that, you'll need an appropriate pre-amp to get the levels up (or maybe use a microphone?)