Gotoh UKB friction tuners

Jerwin

Reaction score
Hello there,

I've just bought set of Gotoh UKB tuning pegs from a friend who is a luthier. I am eager to put them on my soprano ukulele but it will take some time for me to get into workshop and play around with these a bit, fill holes after open geared tuners etc... I am just curious if any of you have any experience with these? They are rather inexpensive so I am worried a bit of drilling my lovely uke and finding out these does not hold the uke tuned. I have no experience with friction tuners whatsoever. I think Gotoh should be fine, is that so?

Last edited:
Hi Jerwin, your Luthier friend should be able to provide good advice, I would start there.

Well, he builds guitars and mandolins mainly. He has no personal experience with these... Don't you think I asked him? :D

Well, he builds guitars and mandolins mainly. He has no personal experience with these... Don't you think I asked him? :D

Sorry mate, I didn't mean to offend. Any luthier should be able to offer good advice regarding the fitting of hardware, even if they do not build ukuleles.

I personally never see why everyone hates on friction tuners. I quite like them when they're good quality. I'm sure Gotoh's will be good. They work great on Soprano's. Post some before/after pics!

Sorry mate, I didn't mean to offend. Any luthier should be able to offer good advice regarding the fitting of hardware, even if they do not build ukuleles.

You did not offend me at all! He loves Gotoh. As I said, He can't be sure if he has no personal experience or any feedback from users. It's not so huge uke community in the Czech rep. I believe I was the first one to buy uke friction pegs from him and I am quite sure he is one of the biggest hardware suppliers in the Czech Rep.

Jerwin,
I am so confused. You said you bought these from "a luthier friend" but he didn't install them?