Strumming?

kierannestor

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm brand new to ukulele as in I just got it in the post a couple of hours ago :) and its awesome :D
but i do have a question before i used to play acoustic and electric guitar and i used to always play with a pick never with my hand so I would like to know how to strum properly on a ukulele as i don't think that i am doing it right and i obviously i dont want to pick up any bad habits as im just starting
Cheers,
Kieran

there's various ways to strum. a lot of people use their fingers, some use their thumb. do whatever feels right for now. you can buy felt picks too but i've personally never used one. if you check the lessons here on ukuleleunderground - you'll find a lesson dedicated to strumming by aldrine - take his word as gospel and you'll be A-OK :) mahaloz :shaka:

thanks very much, personally i do not want to play uke with a pick so i'll go check up that strumming video right now!
cheers dude:cool:

there's various ways to strum. a lot of people use their fingers, some use their thumb. do whatever feels right for now. you can buy felt picks too but i've personally never used one. if you check the lessons here on ukuleleunderground - you'll find a lesson dedicated to strumming by aldrine - take his word as gospel and you'll be A-OK :) mahaloz :shaka:

go with this. and dont forget, the hardest part is the first month you play. Then all you have to do is enjoy the ride. Don't ever stop ukein!!!

Yup. What the guys said.

Aldrine's stuff is great, and it is gospel - but it's Aldrine's gospel. Yours might end up being a little different. There are various approaches, but for a starting point you can't beat Aldrine's lessons.

The guy is a one-man public service, and a lot of people are really grateful for what he has taught us (for me it's gratitude mixed with awe and frustration!)

If you haven't already, it might be a good idea to start growing and strengthening those right hand fingernails.