PDA

View Full Version : help

bandmom
09-01-2016, 03:13 PM
I am NEW to Ukuleles-I need help understanding some of the differences, looking at Baritones?????

teryg
09-01-2016, 04:11 PM
I am NEW to Ukuleles-I need help understanding some of the differences, looking at Baritones?????

Look around on youtube. I learned the differences by reading up a little on some websites, but having someone show me the differences and play so I could hear the differences was really helpful.

teryg
09-01-2016, 04:12 PM
And be prepared to get lost in youtube. There is so much ukulele stuff on youtube that a couple of hours can blow by before you know it.

bacchettadavid
09-01-2016, 05:12 PM
Welcome to UU, Bandmom.

A good place to start would be here, where the Hawai'i Music Store compares five sizes of the same model: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFUJbJqvcz4. Baritone begins at 4:50.

Mivo
09-01-2016, 05:15 PM
A baritone ukulele is bigger than the other sizes, and it is usually tuned DGBE, like the first four strings of a regular guitar. The relative tuning is the same as the ukulele's standard tuning, so the chord shapes are the same (but are for different chords), so if you play by yourself, you can just play the material that is for low-G ukuleles. The scale length of baritone ukuleles is often between 19" and 20.5". Some people use re-entrant tuning with their baritones (dGBE, with a high-D), and there are also strings for C-tuning (GCEA) for baritones.

If you have any specific questions about the differences, feel free to ask here. :)

Croaky Keith
09-01-2016, 09:21 PM
Biggest difference between baritone & 'regular' ukes is in the tuning, as Mivo says above.

Different woods give different tones as well, as do different strings, so there are options after buying your first uke - though many of us end up just buying more ukes of different sizes. :)

AndieZ
09-01-2016, 11:57 PM