Resonator's limits ?

mrStones

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I recently saw the Kala Resonator. Seems quite lovely (at least in the youtube video) and really affordable, but there is some arguments online about the purpouse of a resonator ukulele.
Some tells it is good only for blues and bluegrass, other says it is a good all-rounder, but honestly I can't figure how could be play (just for example) play "Greensleve" or a piece of classical music on a reso.
My imagination says "it would be weird", but I have no experience at all.

So the question is : is the Reso Uke really limited in purpouse or it is just a "urban legend"? Does anyone had experience beyond bluegrass and blues with a reso ?

Thanks in advance

Instruments are just tools for making music. If it sounds and feels good to you, then it's good! There's a real tendency to get hung up types of instrument, I've found in particular around bluegrass. Look up Chris Thile - he plays mandolin and uses his "bluegrass" mandolin to play incredible classical pieces as well as bluegrass music. For that matter, check out people like Jake S who plug their uke in and shred it like an electric guitar.

If you like how it sounds and plays, then play away and don't worry about what's right/wrong or normal/weird!

I am a supporter of historically informed performance, but I'll go ahead and put my foot in my mouth. Music is for sharing, and the ukulele is a great tool for sharing music.

One of my jamming buddies plays some very unconventional Dowland on his dobro, and he can make your heart ache or soar when he gets going. Paul Buskirk recorded an album of mandola music in the 90s called Nacogdoches Waltz. On that album are sublime versions of "Greensleeves" and "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring".

Play music you love, on an instrument you love, and play so much it becomes something beautiful.

Hypothesis: It is impossible to play Greensleeves on a resonator ukulele

Materials: Beltona resonator ukulele, Blue Snowball Microphone