Shoulder straps or neck straps? Pros? Cons?

Gengarx

Reaction score
Hey guy's,

So you probably figured out that I'm a Uke Newb lol but I am looking around online because I just ordered my first Uke and I have a question about Shoulder straps and neck straps (Not sure if that is the correct name but I am referring to the straps that clip to the sound hole and goes behind the Uke to be supported by your neck). I am curious to see what everyone here prefers. It seems like to me the easiest option are the neck straps because you don't have to drill into the Uke like you do in most cases with shoulder straps, however with this type of strap you lose the ability to hold the Uke hands free like you can with shoulder straps. This is most likely going to boil down to me just trying both and seeing what is more comfortable for my needs but I would like to here how people with experience feel about these two options for straps. Which type do you prefer? Do you prefer different straps in different situations? Are there other options I haven't mentioned here?

Thanks guy's!! You're advice is much appreciated!:D

Personally, I'd never clip a strap to the sound hole. The tops are so thin that I'd worry about damaging it, especially if I took my hands off the ukulele.

I feel that a half-strap, like the Uke Leash (which I have seven or eight of), or a regular strap (requires fitting a button) are far superior and safer choices. I really do like the Uke Leash. Only one of my ukuleles has a button, and there is an adapter for the Uke Leash to turn it into a full strap.

I prefer shoulder straps. I also like the Uke Leash but prefer the ones that's require a button.