Tuning Baritone Uke to GCEA

lint

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am completely new to the ukulele. I have a little experience playing guitar, but it is very little (mostly just punk songs from when I was in a band as a teenager, I normally played the bass though). So I don't have any real knowledge of guitar chords.

Anyway, I got a Makala MK-B off of craigslist for very cheap. I know that baritones are standardly tuned in DGBE, but all of the guides for learning ukulele that I can find are for the gCEA tuning. So I was wondering if it would cause any damage to tune my baritone to GCEA (standard, not the re-entrant) so that the chords/keys match when I'm learning. I'm not sure if it matters, but I thought the strings would be the stock ones, as it was advertised as new, but I found a little cardboard thing in the box that said Aquila Supernyglut strings (here's a picture) and I didn't think the Makala line had those since most reviews I found of them said upgrading to Aquila strings made it sound a lot better... so maybe it's not the stock strings or that cardboard thing is just a red herring? Anyway, I do know for sure that the 3rd and 4th strings are wound in this set.

And I know I could get a capo and put it on the 5th fret, but then I'd have to order it online and wait a few days and I'm just impatient and want to start learning tonight...

I also know I can buy some baritone Aquila sets for the gCEA re-entrant tuning. But same problem as getting a capo.

I don't mind if the strings might break, as I can always buy new ones (and I'll most likely be getting some of the gCEA re-entrants for spares, anyway), I just don't want anything bad to happen to the ukulele structurally, if I were to play with it tuned to GCEA for a week or so.

Thanks for any advice.