Tenor scale length 17 vs 18"

johnson430

Reaction score
So what is the difference? Does 18" add more frets or more space between the frets?
Thanks.

ps: I did a quick google search but didn't see anything relevant, there might be something on UU but I didn't look it up because the fish are biting so I am hoping someone can help me out while I try to catch some snapper for dinner. =)

I have Kamaka HF-3 and Kamaka HF-3L. The HF-3L stands for long neck, and it has a 19" scale, which in my limited experience is the standard on long neck tenors. Kanile'a occasionally makes them, and I regret not buying the one HMS had for sale recently.

I am new to uke, but I have invested heavily in my new addiction. If you explain to me how to attach photo I will send picture of them side by side. My observations:
1) The long neck model connects to the body at the 15th fret rather than the 14th fret.
2) The frets on the long neck model are wider in between and much easier to play and get great tone up the neck
3) The body is the same, but tone has more low end and depth overall. I guess simplified it sounds somewhere in between tenor and baritone. I can say this comfortably because I also have an HF-4 baritone.

Hope this helps!

Awesome. Thanks Mezcalero and uke1950.
I am getting a custom uke made and I think it might suit my playing style to get an 18".

Awesome. Thanks Mezcalero and uke1950.
I am getting a custom uke made and I think it might suit my playing style to get an 18".

I have never heard of a 18" scale length on a tenor, 19" yes. I am assuming you are talking about the Ono you have ordered. I would guess the fret spacing would be a bit larger and it would remain 14 frets to the body. Again I have never heard of a 18" but David Ingalls would be the best guy to ask.

He does a 16" concert which is one inch longer than standard so anything is possible. I have one and love it, Dave build great instruments