Headphones

shuggee

Reaction score
I'm looking for headphones to go with a Stagg, solid body ukulele, to use for silent practice. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
shuggee

Shuggee,
So many questions: In or over the ear? Noise cancelling? Price range?
I would love to help and I am sure Booli will reply with some great suggestions but we need a bit more info to help you the best we can.

I think I would prefer over the ear as I feel they would be more comfortable. I am new to this so I don't know anything about it really. What is noise cancelling? I don't want to spend a fortune, the ukulele only costs £130. Is that enough information?

I think I would prefer over the ear as I feel they would be more comfortable. I am new to this so I don't know anything about it really. What is noise cancelling? I don't want to spend a fortune, the ukulele only costs £130. Is that enough information?

Yes, now we just wait for Booli to see this.
I will PM him with a link to this. He will give you some great advice on the matter.

Thanks very much. I look forward to receiving any advice I can get

Even a solid body is not truly "silent" so you may not need anything. But for this purpose my first thought is "anything" will do. As long as the chord is long enough and the fit is comfortable in or on your ears, it should be fine. Does the Stagg have a headphone jack or do you need something else to plug into like an AmpPlug?

So it looks as though your new uke has a dedicated 3.5mm headphone socket, distinct from the actual preamp output socket. I wonder what the output voltage is - I would guess probably low - in which case I would recommend looking at buying some low impendance Sennheisers. If you don't want to spend too much they have some great entry-level options.

Alternatively you could buy a plug-in headphone amp. Obviously this adds expense but you might get better sound.

Last edited: