PDA

View Full Version : Bridge blank- Cocobolo

Ukemakinmecrazy
10-05-2016, 09:37 AM
Check this baby out. Going to try to make a pin bridge out of it.

Any advice? Or maybe even a string placement template?

Dan Gleibitz
10-06-2016, 02:59 AM
Nice. What size/shape of uke are you planning to build?

Rrgramps
10-06-2016, 04:03 AM
That will look nice. Hope to see your build progress. Don't hold back. LOL

Ukemakinmecrazy
10-07-2016, 07:03 AM

Shooting for a tenor Uke using the Hana Lima 'IA book as my main guide, but watching a ton of You Tube as well. Hoping to make one my granddaughter can play one day (She is only a year and a half old at this point).

This is my first attempt at building a bridge and I think I just realized my first mistake, or at least something I could have done that would have made this a little easier. I should have cut the saddle slot in before I scroll sawed the shape out. I did think to drill the pin holes before cutting, don't know why I didn't think of the saddle. DOOOOH!

Looked at a bunch of clipart for inspiration then sketched my own turtle shape. Not bad eh?

Is there generally a bias here against bridges shaped like animals or whatever? Just curious.
I have been involved in other hobbies where people who consider themselves purists frown on anything that isn't classic and traditional.

Kekani
10-07-2016, 10:57 AM
Is there generally a bias here against bridges shaped like animals or whatever? Just curious.

I have been involved in other hobbies where people who consider themselves purists frown on anything that isn't classic and traditional.
The bridge is a brace. In some instruments, it's the ONLY brace.

I would think most of the craftsmen in the Lounge view the bridge from a functional perspective, rather than form. Then design form in while maintaining function.