Production tenors with 12 frets to the body?

Mivo

Reaction score
Some custom builders use or offer tenors with 12 frets to the body, and I learned that older Martin tenors also used this design. Same scale length, and with extra frets, just a different joint and bridge placement. My Barron River is designed like this and I think this is in part also why it feels and sounds so good to me.

Individual luthiers and vintage instruments aside, are there any "factory" produced shelf tenors that come with 12 frets to the body? Collings tenors have 13, but I'm not aware of any that connect at the 12th fret, so turning to the hive mind for information. :) Thanks in advance!

Larrivee ukes are all 12-fret Necks.

Cordoba as well.

Cordoba 30 series are 12 fret to body with a spanish heel construction. Their 24 series are 14 fret to body.

Last edited:
All my Caramels are 12 frets to the body. Soprano, concert, tenor, and Baritone. You can't get more 'production' than a Caramel.

Newbie here....Can anyone explain any differences in tone /sound between 12 fret vs 14 frets to body ukuleles?

Newbie here....Can anyone explain any differences in tone /sound between 12 fret vs 14 frets to body ukuleles?

I don't think its a sound issue.

12 is traditional guitar (and I guess traditional uke) spacing.

Whether its 12 or 14, the scale length is the same. If you don't play up the neck 12 vs 14 probably isn't noticible unless you use the body join for fret reference instead of the nut, or the dots.

Personally... I don't understand why you'd want 12 fret. I find it very limiting. I very often need the 15th fret on the first string, which is only 1 over the body, and it makes me kinda want a koaloha because of their 15th fret join.

The need to go that high is not just mental. The whole reason for cut outs on the treble bout is because people need to reach those, and the 12 fret join design makes that difficult.