Help with Practice Routine/ Resources

idxxoutoftheblue

Reaction score
Hello!
I just started playing ukulele about a month ago and I've been able to pick up some basic chords and strum patterns from Youtube. I've also been using Yousician (which I really don't like...) and I downloaded Ukulele Aerobics (but at week 3, I'm already feeling like it's too advanced). I signed up for UU+ and I'm in the 2 week free trial trying to decide if I should stick with it. I've been reading a lot about The Ukulele Way and that sounds like a really good program too.

Obviously, right now I don't have much structure, and I think I need some. I've been trying to figure out if I should stay with UU or TUW (I don't really want to pay for both). I've also done a lot of research on books and I guess I'm trying to figure out what some must have books are. I know so much information is available online, that books aren't really necessary, but if these books are worthwhile, I'd be fine with spending the money on them.

Anyways, I'd appreciate any insight on coming up with a more structured plan and how to move forward. I'm also going to include a list of books I've read are good and that I'm considering getting (it's a long list, obviously I wouldn't buy all of them). I'd love opinions!

Also I'm trying to find out more about Ukulelezaza. Any information you could share with me?

Thanks so much and sorry this is a bit long!!

Book list:
- Ukulele Exercises for Dummies
- The Complete What Ukulele Players Really Want to Know- Barry Maz
- Fingerstyle Ukulele- Aaron Keim
- Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps-
- Ukulelezaza
- Understanding Ukulele Chords- Robbert van Renesse
- The Daily Ukulele

tl;dr:Started a month ago and looking for more structure in my routine than watching YT videos, using Yousician and Ukulele Aerobics. Considering UU or Ukulele Way (can't afford both). Looking for good beginner books (some are listed above).