Where can I get my new uke setup?

janevicki

Reaction score
Hello All, I'm just a Newbie.

I bought my uke before I discovered this forum. I regret not buying my Uke from a place that did a setup before it was shipped. I have a Kala KA-TEM Exoctic Mahogany Tenor and yes I love it. :eek:

However, I can't keep it tuned and while I'm practicing my cords, it keeps going out of tune and sounds bad. I know that my fingers are deformed pretzels, going all the wrong way,...I am the blame for most of the awful sounds. Is the tuning issue because the Aquila Nylgut strings are still new?:confused:

I just had my Uke for less than a week.

Because I did not have a proffessional set up on my uke, should I go to a Uke repair or setup place to have it checked over? Or wait till I get more time and experience on the Uke?

Thanks for your help!

:shaka:

Hello and welcome to UU and the joy of playing ukulele. The issue you are having is that the strings are new and they are still streching. This is common with all ukulele strings and Aquila seem to take longer then most to settle in. I find it takes around 7-10 hrs of actual playing time for them to become stable and hold their tune. I am assuming you are checking them with some type of tuning device ;)

Don't worry about a set up at the moment, it is not the end of the world. My first uke was bought off the shelf just like yours and I learned a lot over the first three months before having it set up.

Don't bother. Like DownUpDave said, your strings are still stretching.

The 'setup' you get for free from some retailers is usually nothing more than checking string height and minor adjustment to the saddle (sanding a little off the bottom, typically). Maybe string height at the nut. You've missed something between nothing and not much.