Experiment: Using Turquoise Stone as a Rosette

sequoia

Reaction score
I'm building an ukulele for a vegan who requires that the uke contain no animal products. This means no bone, no hide glue and no shell. I decided to try a stone inlayed rosette using turquoise. I've never done this before and decided to experiment before I tried on one of my nice tops and used an old mahogany top. It actually turned out quite well and was relatively easy. This is a method people without access to shell or beginners might want to try. Easy if you can cut a circular rosette channel. You could even use rocks from your backyard or something off the beach.

First of all was to get some turquoise so I went down to the local hippy Beads and Seeds store and got seven little pieces of turquoise; total cost $7. Then I made a stone crusher from pieces of threaded pipe with end caps. With a hammer I was able to crush up the stones.

DSCN7306.jpg

The resultant "powder":

DSCN7314.jpg

I lined the outsides and insides of the routed out rosette channel with two black pieces of thin purfling. This is optional, but I figured it would give a nicer line. Now a very important step: Seal the wood with at least two coats of dilute shellac. This prevents the glue from staining your top or running up the grain line (bad!). I then glued in the purfling using CA glue and accelerator while holding the purfling tight against the sides of the channel. Easy.

Next I added the pulverized stone with small chunks to the channel created by the purfling. Fill up until it is a little proud of the top. Flood with very thin CA glue and wait 10 minutes.

DSCN7303.jpg

Sand out with an orbital sander and done.

DSCN7307-001.jpg

With a shellac wash:

DSCN7312.jpg

Very quick and easy. Total cost in turquoise: $2 bucks.

Nice idea. I guess you could use almost anything, sky's the limit.