Bluesgrass Keys?

Ukettante

Reaction score
I'm new to bluessgrass music. I'm transcribing my way through Alison Krauss's compilation CD. To my surprise, the very first song, Now That I Found You, is in D sharp. Then the next song, Oh, Atlanta, is in A sharp! I had thought bluegrass keys were the common guitar keys, particularly G, D, and A.

Haven't gone on to the rest of the CD yet. Maybe the first two songs are anomalies?

It's common to play any particular song in the key the singer is most comfortable with. You'll find vocal songs in any key.

Cheers,
Max

Bluegrassers use a capo to keep the chord shapes that they are playing the same and move the key for the vocalist.

I'm new to bluessgrass music. I'm transcribing my way through Alison Krauss's compilation CD. To my surprise, the very first song, Now That I Found You, is in D sharp. Then the next song, Oh, Atlanta, is in A sharp! I had thought bluegrass keys were the common guitar keys, particularly G, D, and A.

Haven't gone on to the rest of the CD yet. Maybe the first two songs are anomalies?

Perhaps her keys are Eb and Bb. Bluegrass is mostly a vocal genre. So one plays it in his/her singing key. :eek:ld:

I believe that Alison's version of Baby, Now That I've Found You is indeed in Eb. Like others have said, probably because she prefers singing it in that key. It looks like there's a bit of capo action going on in this live performance...

Yu ain't never played with u banjer picku. If'n it ain't G , they ain playin. An yu kin tell if the stage is level, cause when it is, they'll drool outa both sides uv their mouth

Can someone enlighten me about there being no D sharp or A sharp but E flat or B flat? I thought A sharp is B flat? Don't get it. Sorry if this is very elementary.

Ya got me. Wait for Ubulele.

If you check the circle of 5ths, there IS a C# / Db, F# / Gb and B / Cb. But I can go no further. I don't use any of those chords and don't even know how to fret them.