Need some advice - buying my first concert ukulele

Slumber

Reaction score
Hey all!

I started playing the ukulele just two months ago, so I'm a total beginner. I've been practicing with my brother's uke, a aNueNue Concert Papa II that I really like, and now it's time to buy my own (concert) ukulele.

I live in a small town in Germany and there aren't many options to buy good ukuleles around here, I already visited all the music stores we have and didn't find any uke that convinced me. So I'll have to buy one online and won't be able to try it out, sadly.

Right now I can't pay more than 100€ for a new ukulele, but I guess that's okay considering I'm just beginning. So yeah, I'm looking for an affordable but good-quality concert uke.

These are the 3 models that I have in mind and could purchase online:

-The Makala MK-C
-The Cordoba 15CM (this one's a little bit more expensive than the others)
-The Koki'o LMHLMH-C (there isn't much info about this one, just a few (positive) reviews and some videos on youtube (example), but I really liked its design and the way it sounds)

Does anybody have some experience with any of this ukes and could give me some advice?

Thank you in advance! :D

EDIT: Oh, and another question: how necessary it is to have a tuner? With my brother's uke I used an app that seemed to work quite well, but I don't know if I should get a real tuner now.

Last edited:
Check out SUS which is the Southern Ukulele Store in England. There are members here through out Europe including Germany who have bought from them with great satisfaction. They are highly respected and regarded on this site.

You dont need a tuner if you have an app. If you are playing with others or in a noisey enviroment a clip on headstock tuner is needed.

Of the three ukes you have listed listed I have heard best reports from the Cordoba. Well made and good sounding.