Good Uke Exercise book?

joypog

Reaction score
I've been messing around with the Uke for a couple months now (with no sustained experience in stringed instruments except with a short stint with the Banjo a decade ago).

On the one hand I've been quite enjoying just playing children's songs with my daughter, but I've been wanting to do something a little more "formal". So I'm currently working through the Art of Arpeggio's free ebook by Samantha Muir.

After I finish the 20 exercises in that book and if I still want to keep going, the three books on the market that's caught my attention are

Ukulele Aerobics by Chad Johnson
Ukulele Exercises for Dummies by Brett McQueen and Alistair Wood
Learn Finger-Style Ukulele: With music Theory by Tony Mizen

I might also veer off and go into Clawhammer Ukelele with Aaron Keim.

Any thoughts on any of these books?

I would not recommend Ukulele Aerobics. It starts out okay, but moves very quickly and loses its relevance before long.

I would not recommend Ukulele Aerobics. It starts out okay, but moves very quickly and loses its relevance before long.

I agree with Rollie. I also have the Dummies book, and I guess the exercises are okay, but most of the tunes are Christmas songs, and it seems strange to be playing them in July and August. I didn't care for it. I also have Aaron's Clawhammer book, and it's very good if you wanna play Clawhammer on a ukulele.

I think that, unless you're a complete beginner, you can find better learning material on the UU or on YouTube. DVDs or internet lessons are good because one can actually see (sometimes) what he/she is supposed to be learning.

I have found most of the lesson books that I have tried to be disappointing. :eek:ld:

If I were in the market for books again, I'd go the fingerstyle route, but I enjoy the melodies rather than strum & sing, so there isn't a lot of general books for picking, they tend to be for a certain style of picking. :)