a couple of "how to play books'?

Scotttyd

Reaction score
I am been messing around with my uke using youtube videos, etc. I have done a decent job of picking up the basics (very simply strumming). For some reason (even though I am not old) I prefer a good paper book. I end up spending a lot of time writing down cord progressions, strum patterns, etc.

I guess I am looking for a good how to tutorial, basic patterns, cord progressions, exercises, and also a good book with some pop, folk type songs that sound good on the uke . I am not good at listening to music and coming up with strum patterns, cord progressions, etc. I played guitar a lot growing up, and could learn it if someone showed me how to play, but I often get frustrated trying to learn it myself, my brain just doesn't work that way.

Ideas?

thanks all!~

For the absolute basics, check out some of the "old-fashioned" ukulele "methods" that have been scanned to PDF and are available freely on the internet ... you'll have to print them out yourself ;)

Alternatively I pick up a lot of second-hand sheet music and books from eBay.uk, admittedly nothing ukulele-specific, but I haven't looked very hard for that ;)

For exercises, which for me turned out to be a better approach than the beginner books that start explaining the strings and how to hold the instrument, I like "Ukulele Exercises for Dummies" and "Ukulele Aerobics". Both of these teach you fundamentals. ´For modern songs, you'll probably have to loom for separate (song)books, like the ones for the Beatles and Metallica. "The Daily Ukulele" fakebook is also worth a look. For learning strum pattern for specific songs, YouTube videos and covers are probably the best way. There are tons and tons of those.