music theory...

takesuoutswitch

Reaction score
i wanna know as much music thory as possible, and even more importantly, how to aplply it to the uke (like a pentatonic lead pattern for the uke or sumtin) i read music theory for dummies, but i dont really feel like it helped out much, what other resources can i use?

Last edited:
Sumtin...

i wanna know as much music thory as possible, and even more importantly, how to aplply it to the uke (like a pentatonic lead pattern for the uke or sumtin) i read music theory for dummies, but i dont really feel like it helped out much, what other resources can i use?

I've found that music theory means noting unless one can apply it. Have you thought of creating and writing out chord melodies for the ukulele?

i agree with craig in this case!

I dont know much about ukulele theory at all. I wish i have some sort of music background but unfortunatly i dont.

I play what ever that sounds good to my ears and not knowing what notes are being pressed. I hope it doesnt make me more less of a player than anyone else.
i Know most of the chords etc... but not the notes in the chord and how they form up.

The book/CD, Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps is a good place to start. Then keep reading the forums and watching all the instructional vids that are available on the interwebs.

Theory is not essential for people who just want to strum a few songs, but don't listen to anyone who tells you it isn't worth studying. Some parts are more relevant than others, but if you get your head around the right bits then it will transform the way you understand and play music.

No financial interest, but I recommend Chord Wizard Music Theory. They have a couple of other good music tools/educational products too.

A basic grasp of scales and chord theory is a good place to start. Get to understand how intervals work.