What chord am I playing?

ryandaily

Reaction score
1-0-1-2

I was trying to figure out what the G#, C, F and B notes would make but I'm pretty shaky when it comes to theory so help. Info on how you arrived at your answer would help, too. THX

Last edited:
Well a C, F, G#, B isn't really a standard chord.

I guess if you really want to define it then it would be a Csus4aug5maj7 chord? Haha not really sure how exactly to spell it out. Doesn't sound good.

If the C is the root then the F is a sus4th. (replacing the E)

Then the G# is an augmented 5th. (To my knowledge)

And finally the B is the Major 7th.

What song is using this chord?

it is my own. does the root note have to be C for any particular reason or was that just your first stab at what could be a string of different chords? i'm not a beginner; i know most chords. i just sort of randomly did this one recently and liked it so i looked for a name and came up empty handed. i was wondering if some seasoned vet on here (possibly like yourself, i dont know) would have an easy answer for me.

The reason a song is needed is for its key -- without knowing the context of a chord, you can't really name it. You might be able to guess, but with a strange collection of notes like this it's almost impossible.

That said, I just played your chord and it does sound cool, and what stands out to me is the diminished character of it: the F (1), Ab (3), and B (b5), and then you've got this C in the bass which makes it even more ominous. So I dunno, if you we thinking of it like this, you might call it an Fdim/C.

it is my own. does the root note have to be C for any particular reason or was that just your first stab at what could be a string of different chords? i'm not a beginner; i know most chords. i just sort of randomly did this one recently and liked it so i looked for a name and came up empty handed. i was wondering if some seasoned vet on here (possibly like yourself, i dont know) would have an easy answer for me.