Florida and Michigan Residents....

UkeStuff

Reaction score
My professional "hobby" (field I am an expert in but doesn't pay anything) is technology in music education, and I speak across the country on how to integrate technology into music. It is a field of great need, but music has special needs in this field and schools generally aren't willing to spend the money necessary to equip and then train their music teachers.

I have added presentations on ukulele to my list of available topics, and my first two sessions on ukulele are in January at the Florida Music Education Conference in Tampa (January 12 & 13) and at the Michigan Music Conference in Grand Rapids (January 19-21). I now have hotels arranged (and a flight to Tampa--driving to Michigan).

One of the things I would love to present to teachers in those states are a list of contacts for ukulele needs in those states. For example: clubs that would love to help a teacher starting with ukuleles and excellent music stores that deal with ukulele. I can mention things like Ukulele Underground and the major "online" vendors (Ukulele Site, Mim's, Uke Republic, Mainland Ukuleles), and I certainly know (for Michigan) Ben Hassinger's work with Mighty Uke Day and all connected activities. I will also mention Kala's generosity with Waterman for many schools.

If you are a Florida or Michigan resident and you have a uke club that would love to support music educators, or know of excellent music store that deals with ukulele, could you please leave some information in this thread?

Also...I'll have some time on my hands for these conventions--and would appreciate anyone wanting to get together to play, sing, eat, etc in the evenings....or even accepting/begging rides from place to place (although I'm not opposed to taking a taxi/uber).