Am I doing something wrong or just expecting too much too soon? Advice please.

Philipraposo1982

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am self taught ukulele player (maybe 2 years) and while I have learned a ton and continue to keep improving I am worried I am missing something key

My main focus has been playing solo ukulele, this includes finger style stuff as well as chord melody's and instrumentals.

I tend to pickup new stuff fairly well and can read both tab and some sheet music too. Both cases I am not great but good enough.

So here is where my concern lies. I am worried with how "clean" I play. I end up memorizing all my solos and i have a fairly decent size repertoire for someone who is starting out. At least I think its a decent size (4 Christmas songs, 7 other pop songs / theme songs, some of which I think are pretty advanced).

I just feel like i don't get the super clean crisp playing I hear from people on youtube and watch in videos online. I wonder if its a cased of doing something wrong or just simply need a lot more playing time to truly master the songs.

I would say 75-80% is clean and nice maybe even up to 95% one some songs. so its not like i struggle through them but some notes ring out dead the odd time or note is bending a bit or a struggle to get my finger on it in time just a 1/2 second short on timing.

I know its hard to say for sure but does this sound like its something that I will natural improve on as i keep playing?

Thanks!

Sounds like you've made a ton of progress! I should probably be asking you for advice. I'm not much of a player yet, but if your goals are to play songs consistently through at a pretty high level, you need to work on those parts that don't come as easily. Most people work on a song always from beginning to end. Once you have a song sort of memorized, really focus on the parts that challenge you. Over and over and over. Repeat frequently. ;-)