Looking for new stings and would like some opinions. (thickness / feel)

Philipraposo1982

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have a Kala KAS Concert ukulele, nothing special but for now its what I got. Stock Aquila nygut strings. I have been playing for almost 2 years and never changed the string. They still hold their tone quite well.

The reason I am looking to try something new is more out of curiosity more then an actual need to replace them. One thing I have always felt is that my nygut strings are thick, a bit hard to press, and have a kind of "muddy" (not crisp) sound at times.

So i am hoping with the experience of others i can be advised on some different strings to try.

What I am looking for:
- crisp sound, not too deep/full, but not muted or soft.
- thinner diameter / soft to touch?! is that a thing
- should have a good feel to them

Is there a string out there that fits what I am looking for?

Thanks in advanced,

Philip

Sounds like Aquila reds would be a great place to start. I think they have one of the best/softest feels of any string I've played and they have a nice light/bright chime to them.

Also, I'd highly recommend reading the southcoast strings guide http://www.southcoastukes.com/stringuide.htm, they should give you the tools to understand the implications of string choice.

thanks for the feedback. Another trait i forgot to mention was concerning the "sticky" feel i got from using the Aquila nyguts. I don't know if they all have the sticky kind of feel to them but I would like to avoid it if possible.

I will likely buy 2 sets to try, both of which will be chosen based on feedback I get from this post. I will most definitely consider the reds.

Would you say that they are a fair bit thinner than the nygut? how do they feel?

Anoything string I have been looking into is the D'Addario T2 EJ87C, any thoughts?

Last edited:
I think you'll get a bunch of different opinions, so you may need to try a few.