Would you recommend a Kmise Concert Ukulele to a beginner (solid mahogany top)?

Niamhers

Reaction score
Hi!

Newbie here so I'm hoping someone will alert me if I'm about to make a terrible mistake in purchasing this uke!

Basically, I've done a good bit of research trying to figure out what uke to buy and although reviews for this particular brand are very few and far between they seem to be good for the most part.

Note: I have a soprano that I've been playing for a few weeks now but I just borrowed it off a friend to have a go so will be giving it back soon, it's a cheap and cheerful model anyway.

I'd be buying the Kmise off AliExpress (so direct from the factory I assume?) and it'll cost approx 45 euro with free shipping.

My main concern is sound quality and that it'll last a while because as a poor student I won't be able to replace it every 6 months!

The actual look of the model is something that there's no need to factor in when advising me because I'd be planning a little arty remodel myself anyway! :D

Thanks for any advice given in advance, I appreciate it!

-Niamhers

Hi Niamhers! Welcome to the world of ukuleles!

I have not heard of Kmise ukuleles before. This doesn't mean they are bad, just that I have not heard of them. My concern would be that it sounds like it is coming directly from the factory and you are new to the ukulele. Often times, especially with lower priced ukuleles, they come from the factory without being properly setup. A poor setup can make a ukulele difficult to play and many times newbies give up because it is not fun. If you do go ahead and get it you can always find a music store to perform the setup for not that much money. Or, you can look on the internet and learn to do it yourself. It is not very difficult to perform yourself.