Strings on a Cordoba 22c

Fisheyes

Reaction score
Hi all, my first post on this premier site.

I have recently 'upgraded' from a Laka VUC50 with LowG 'Worth clear' strings....very nice on this uke.
My new uke ...a Cordoba 22C is very nice...however the strings that came with it... Aquila 7U sounded awful imo. So i strung it with the Worths......Now, its much better... but very bright....so i am considering changing to the LowG Fremont Blackline's....ive used these before and they were nice on a mahogany uke.....however, my Cordoba is Rosewood with solid Spruce top. Basically, im looking to get a slightly 'softer' sound without losing the loudness (different from brightness).
Any suggestions from the experts on here would be well received.

Wayne Fisheyes

The Blacklines will be less bright then the Worth Clears. You can also try Worth Brown which is their warm string. Do you prefer a florocarbon low G over a wound. If you like a wound low G try the Oasis warm Low G set.

I'm no expert but I have a Cordoba 25CK (solid koa) and I too found the Aquila strings sounding aweful. I tried various strings and finally stopped with Worth Brown Light for the first three strings and Worth Brown Medium Low G for the fourth. I really like the sound now - mellow with great sustain (rings and rings). I believe the Worth Browns are similar to the Fremont Blacklines but I've not tried the latter.

I have a Cordoba 22s it is a beautiful instrument

Hi Fisheyes. I've just bought a 22C as well. What strings did you decide on, or are you still deliberating? Reading the replies above, I'm thinking of getting the Worth Brown Lights. I'll stick with a high G though.

Hi Fisheyes. I've just bought a 22C as well. What strings did you decide on, or are you still deliberating? Reading the replies above, I'm thinking of getting the Worth Brown Lights. I'll stick with a high G though.