Ukulele playing after rotator cuff surgery:

JJFN

Reaction score
To make a long story short, I am undergoing rotator cuff surgery on my right shoulder (my strumming and picking hand) on the 29th of December. My question is, has anyone had this surgery and played their ukulele during the recovery period?

I have tried strumming and I can feel that even now before the surgery, so that's out. But, when I tried picking it didn't seem to cause a problem.
I will consult with my surgeon about this but I was wondering if any UU members had this experience.

Last edited:
Never had the surgery myself, however...

Some purists and pundits will tell you to lock your shoulder and elbow and ONLY ever strum by rotating your wrist...

...while I disagree with this for my own technique (I am not going unlearn ALL of my classical and flamenco training LOL), I am no expert to tell others, but maybe in your case here, adopting this method of strumming can help?

I saw a video in which Jake Shimabukuro talks about how drummers using the 'western grip' when playing snare drum have great agility and speed with that hand, so he decided to try it himself and apply and adapt the technique to strumming, and found that it helped a lot...so if good enough for Jake, maybe it's worth trying it out?

and BTW - 'break a leg' - I'd be really bummed if I could not play due to injury for an extended period... :(

I'm sorry to hear about your surgery. I had rotator cuff/frozen shoulder surgery a few years ago and had a long recovery period, but my surgery was pretty involved. It depends on how much is done once they're in your shoulder joint. Will there be anchors? You don't want to do anything to pull them out. You will probably start PT right away, and will wear a sling for a few weeks. The physical therapist will let you know what movements you can/can't do in the first couple of weeks.I hope you have a speedy recovery and get back to playing your uke in a couple of weeks.