Kiwaya FS-6 string recommendations

Barry Canada

Reaction score
Hi, I am relatively new to Ukulele playing. I purchased a used Kiwaya model FS-6 and would like to put on new strings. I like to strum and fingerpick. Any recommendations would be welcome and appreciated.
Thanks, Barry

If it is like the Famous FS-6, which I believe is the case, they have a compensated saddle (looks like a mountain range) and are set up for the D'Addario Pro Arte Titanium strings (EJ87S). Unless that's what on it (they have a grey-purple-ish hue that makes them easy to spot), I'd give those a try. I didn't expect to like them on my FS-5, but when it arrived it sounded fantastic with them, so I kept them. (Perfect intonation, better than more expensive sopranos I have heard.)

Thanks Mivo,
This is the Kiwaya FS-6 model! There doesn't seem to be much information about this particular model. What is the difference in sound between the Daddaio Pro Arte Titanium and the Fremont Kiwaya tends to string their ukes with?
Also have you tried the worthy on your FS-6?

Famous and Kiwaya are the same. They use the Kiwaya name for the international market and Famous for the Japanese market, so everything you can google about the Famous FS-6 also applies to your instrument. It's the same model. Strings may differ, though I recall HMS/TheUkuleleSite saying that the Kiwaya FS-* models also come with Titaniums. Getting a clear answer on this from Kiwaya is a bit like pulling teeth. Maybe a language barrier, though.