Which subscription for ukulele lessons?

moonshoe

Reaction score
Hello! I just got my first ukulele about a week ago and i'm looking for lessons to subscribe to for the year (gift for the new year from my grandma). I found two that i liked the free lessons of: Rock class 101 and The ukulele way.

I can't decide between the two though, so I would like to hear the experiences of all of you (preferably who joined the either as a complete beginner). I'm currently going through the free lessons by Jim D'Ville that were suggested on James Hill's website and they're awesome, so i'm just looking where to go after that. Thank you! :)

I kind of liked Brett McQueen's lessons at ukuleletricks.com. I think he has some new subscription based learning now as well. Personally, I took the strumming tricks course and am thinking of the finger picking one!

The Ukulele Way is very comprehensive, with a huge amount of pedagogically consistent and sound content. It's also well structured, so you won't get lost or overwhelmed. All lessons are available for high-G (standard GCEA tuning), low-G, high-A (D tuning), and low-A (D tuning), and you can freely switch between those tuning options at any time. James Hill is both a professional teacher and a professional musician, which is a rare combination. Plus, it's inexpensive, includes community sections where you can ask questions, and you'll learn regular musical notation as a side effect. The Ukulele Way assumes no prior knowledge. It really does start gently.

There's also the UU Academy here on this site. I haven't first hand experience with it (I subscribed to The Ukulele Way because I liked the D tuning option), but it also contains a huge amount of content and is well received.

The local leader of the ukulele jams here in the Twin Cities is working through the Craig Chee/Sarah Maisel online courses and likes them.