Next steps

Reaction score
Hi All,

Quick intro. I am the father of an 8 year old who over the last 3 months, has been learning the uke and progressing very quickly.

He brought his first uke (makala dolphin soprano) with birthday money and then began busking.

His busking has been amazing and he has earnt serious cash ($100 per hour) so he added to his collection with a makala MK- C.

From here he now wants to get an electric uke. Is this the best path?

Essentially he wants to eventually move into a guitar, but everyone I have spoken to has suggested that he sticks with the uke for a bit longer.

So to keep his interest, he wants to "step up".

He is self taught at this stage and I am after suggestions for the best path from here.....

Well if he can earn $100 hour - maybe you should take a look at a RISA electric tenor & an amp - that'll get him closer to an electric guitar sound. :)

But, there are a lot of ukes out there with pick ups built in, so it depends on what you/he plan on doing.

Big difference between nylon strung acoustic electric ukes and steel strung ones. One sounds like a uke, the other a guitar. I have both. Why don't you have him do separate you tube searches for electric ukulele....... acoustic, solid body, steel strings. Can get a cool little acoustic electric Epiphone acoustic electric Les Paul, concert size, for about $100 give or take. Mine didn't need any adjustments except for fret ends and a set of Aquila strings. Lots of battery powered amp in lots of price ranges. Can check out demo's on them as well at you tube. A local uke club, if there is one, will expose him to many different instruments, likely amps, etc. etc. Good luck...you have come to the right place.

Thanks guys. Will take him down to the local music shop and have a jam to see what fits best.

I will keep you posted on progress!

I don't think there is anything bad about adding guitar, but I would encourage him to keep the ukulele going.